The Mayhem Continues

As head gamemaker, it is important for me to make sure I kill off some of the tributes to speed up the process and add excitement. The tsunami I conjured was a huge success in painfully drowning the tributes that just weren’t fast enough. This time, I have an even better idea; to send a multitude of poisonous frogs into the arena. I think that this plan will work extremely well because the tiny little frogs seem harmless, but can kill you in an instant.

My objective is to send the plethora of sticky, poisonous frogs into the arena to kill at least three of these tributes. At first, red is the color I wanted the frogs to be because it usually represents pain or death. I quickly changed my mind and decided on blue instead because it symbolizes peace and tranquility. I want the blue, tranquil color of the frogs to poison them; the pain and blood will come afterward. At the moment, they will seem benign, but will soon cause death; like a cigarette does. They seem good in that second, but cause a horrible death later on. Once I finish generating the little blue frogs I press the blinking red button that has been calling my name, waiting for me to press it and send them into the arena. I find it amazing that I can cause the deaths of the tributes, just by the push of a button. I press it.

The frogs come racing into the arena like the tsunami did, but they are much more subtle. The tsunami was as subtle as an elephant in your kitchen, but these frogs, however, are sure to surprise the tributes. They swiftly leap across the wilderness like birds fly across the sky; until they come across a tribute. He is tall and broad-shouldered. His muscular limbs indicate that he is probably from one of the career districts; perfect. I love it when the careers die off because it is not what anyone expects. The frogs dash in his direction and, with every leap, I get more and more excited. The gooey frogs cling to his body and start to accumulate like flies to honey. The expression starts to leave his face as the poison seeps through his veins and into his blood. Once the frogs sense that he is dead they move on, leaving his limp, dead body lying there; helpless. A rush of confidence goes through my body while watching him lay dead on the ground. Not so bad for your first year, Gabe, I think to myself, Not so bad at all. I smirk at my wonderful achievement and start to plan out what amazingly terrifying thing I will conjure up next.

3 Comments on The Mayhem Continues

  1. 4kerryn
    May 29, 2014 at 1:02 pm (10 years ago)

    I like how you used the blue frogs because it symbolizes peace. therefore, the tributes will think peace of the frog and they will pick it up and boom, they are dead. that is very cleaver!! I loved your post this time. I wanted to keep reading. I could picture everything that was happening perfectly! job well done:)

    Reply
  2. 4blake
    May 29, 2014 at 1:03 pm (10 years ago)

    I loved this piece! You used a lot of good describing words, especially in your second paragraph. ” At the moment, they will seem benign, but will soon cause death; like a cigarette does.” This really shows how the frogs will act in the arena. It’s hard to find something wrong in this, the only advice I have is a stronger attention getter. Yours was really good, but didn’t have the same sparkle as the ones you used in the past.

    Reply
  3. 4kaitlyn
    May 29, 2014 at 1:05 pm (10 years ago)

    Your similes were great! My favorite was: “The gooey frogs cling to his body and start to accumulate like flies to honey.” Throughout this entire post I got the feeling of how your character is bloodthirsty (especially at the part where it says how Gabe likes to control these people and feels the power of that single button, then he presses it). You made all the inanimate objects surrounding Gabe become a supporting character in the post which made it enjoyable to read. Since Gamemakers don’t go on camera, I loved getting to know what Gabe was thinking in this post! This was awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply